LeadershipForesters CouncilWood Producers CouncilMassachusetts Forest Trust


The Wood Producers Council is a group of MFA members who advise the MFA Board of Directors on issues and policy specific to licensed timber harvesters, timber harvesting, and the forest industry in Massachusetts.  The Wood Producers Council is made up of licensed Massachusetts timber harvesters and owners of forest businesses who, through education, training and experience, have demonstrated their knowledge and ability to harvest and utilize forest resources to benefit both landowners and the community at large in a constantly changing economic environment.

The Wood Producers Council began in 1952 as the Massachusetts Wood Producers Association, an organization of the primary wood manufacturing industry in Massachusetts, representing sawmill operators, loggers, truckers, firewood dealers and businesses associated with the forest industry. In 2012 the Wood Producers membership voted to become part of the Massachusetts Forest Alliance to unite those committed to a strong, sustainable forest economy in Massachusetts, and allow MFA to represent woodland owners and forest industry professionals with one strong, collective voice.

In addition to advising the MFA Board of Directors, the Wood Producers Council works to provide continuing education opportunities to licensed timber harvesters and other forest professionals throughout the Commonwealth. The Wood Producers Council works to promote sound forest management practices, to educate themselves and inform the public concerning current harvesting techniques and to improve the standards and climate for timber harvesting and utilization in the Commonwealth.

The Wood Producers Council is governed by an Executive Committee, consisting of a chair, vice-chair, secretary, and members of the Council at large, elected by the wood producer members of MFA.

Wood Producers Council Officers

Grant Richards, Lucas Tree Experts – Chair
Evan Dell’Olio, Roberts Bros. Lumber – Vice Chair
Jamie Dammann, NCP – Secretary
Charles Thompson – At Large

Douglas B. Cook Wood Producer of the Year Award
This annual award is named for Doug Cook, a forest products company owner and active MFA board member who passed away in 2018. The award recognizes a timber harvester, sawmill operator, or other forest products professional who exemplifies Doug’s spirit of innovation and leadership within the industry. The Cook Award is presented at MFA’s Annual Meeting in the fall.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2024 Cook Award! There are two ways to nominate someone. You can use an easy online form to submit your nomination, or you can download and print a paper form which you can mail in.

Click here to use the online form.

Click here to download a paper form to mail in.

Nominations are due August 1.

Prior Winners
2019 – John H. Conkey, Sr.
2020 – Paul Darling
2021 – Pirner Logging & Land Clearing
2022 – Ed Brightman, Sr.
2023 – Pantermehl Land Clearing