2022 Annual Meeting Held Virtually October 29th

2022 Annual Meeting Held Virtually October 29th

The 2022 Forest Alliance Annual Meeting was held online the morning of Saturday, October 29th.

The Annual Meeting featured presentations about how to manage softwood diseases and a presentation about how a western Massachusetts forest landowner is building an ocean-going sailboat using native woods.

The meeting also included the presentation of the 2022 awards for Wood Producer of the Year, Forester of the Year, Friend of Forestry, and Forest Stewardship.

Attendees at the virtual meeting qualified for 1 Massachusetts Forester Licensing credit, 1.5 SAF Continuing Forestry Education credits, 1 Connecticut Forest Practitioner CEU, and 2 Massachusetts Timber Harvester credits.

The meeting was online via Zoom and is free, thanks to the generous sponsorship by Farm Credit East and Barry Equipment.

Download the Program Book from the meeting by clicking here.

You can watch a recording of the meeting on YouTube by clicking here.

Meeting agenda:

10 am             Welcome – Dicken Crane, MFA President

10:05 am        Sponsor Message – Chris Laughton, Farm Credit East

10:10 am        Presentation of the Douglas B. Cook Wood Producer of the Year Award

10:20 am        Managing for Forest Health Challenges – Dr. Isabel Munck, U S Forest Service

A review of forest health challenges for tree species such as Eastern White Pine and Eastern Hemlock with management suggestions, and how sentinel arboreta discover new pests and diseases

11 am             Presentation of the Howard F. Mason Forester of the Year Award

11:13 am        MFA Business Meeting – Chris Egan

11:20 am        Presentation and Discussion of Acorn to Arabella Project – Stephen Denette, Acorn to Arabella

The story of building a wooden sailboat from local timber in Granby, Massachusetts – from felling local trees and milling lumber to building the actual boat – documented on YouTube with tens of millions of views across the world

11:45 am        Presentation of the Friend of Forestry Award

11:50 am        Presentation of the John H. Lambert, Jr. Forest Stewardship Award

11:58 am        Legislative Update – Evan Dell’Olio

12:05 pm        End of Meeting