LeadershipForesters CouncilWood Producers CouncilMassachusetts Forest Trust


The Foresters Council is a group of MFA members who advise the MFA Board of Directors on issues and policy specific to foresters and forest management in Massachusetts.   The Foresters Council is made up of licensed Massachusetts Foresters who, through education, training and experience, have demonstrated their knowledge and ability in managing forest resources to benefit both landowners and the community at large.

The Foresters Council began in 1979 as the Massachusetts Association of Professional Foresters and for 32 years operated as a wholly independent organization.  In 2012 the membership of MAPF voted to become part of the Massachusetts Forest Alliance.  This collaboration helped to unite those committed to a strong, sustainable forest economy in Massachusetts, allowing MFA to represent forest landowners and forest industry professionals with one strong, collective voice.

In addition to advising the MFA Board of Directors, the Foresters Council works to provide continuing education opportunities to forestry professionals throughout the Commonwealth.  The Foresters Council works to promote sound forest management practices, to educate themselves and inform the public concerning current management techniques and to maintain the standards of the forestry profession through their code of ethics.

The Foresters Council is governed by an Executive Committee, consisting of a chair, vice-chair, secretary, and members of the Council at large, elected by the forester members of MFA.

Foresters Council Officers

Chair: Mark Mueller
Secretary: Ross Hubac
Member-at-Large: Tom Ryan
Member-at-Large: Joelle Vautour

Howard F. Mason Forester of the Year Award
This annual award is named for Howard F. Mason, a legendary award-winning forester from western Massachusetts who helped mentor and train countless younger foresters and played a leading role in the forestry community. The award recognizes a forester who exemplifies Howard’s excellence in forestry, honesty and integrity, and willingness to help mentor and educate others in the field. The Mason Award is presented at MFA’s Annual Meeting in the fall.

We are now accepting nominations for the 2023 Mason Award. There are two ways to nominate someone. You can use an easy online form to submit your nomination, or you can download and print a paper form which you can mail in.

Click here to use the online form.

Click here to download and print a paper form to mail in.

Nominations are due August 1.

Prior Winners
2019 – Lincoln Fish
2020 – Joe Perry
2021 – Rex Baker
2022 – Mike Bartlett